Are Muslims allowed to eat turtle meat since they live in sea water and land also?



In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.


According to Shariah, it is not permissible for one to consume reptiles.[1] A turtle is a reptile from the Order Chellonnii or Testudines.[2] Therefore, it will be impermissible for one to consume turtle meat.


And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best


Mufti Ismail Desai

Darul Iftaa
South Africa


Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.






[1] كَذَلِكَ مَا لَيْسَ لَهُ دَمٌ سَائِلٌ مِثْلُ الْحَيَّةِ وَالْوَزَغِ وَسَامِّ أَبْرَصَ وَجَمِيعِ الْحَشَرَاتِ وَهَوَامِّ الْأَرْضِ مِنْ الْفَأْرِ وَالْقُرَادِ وَالْقَنَافِذِ وَالضَّبِّ وَالْيَرْبُوعِ وَابْنِ عِرْسٍ وَنَحْوِهَا، وَلَا خِلَافَ فِي حُرْمَةِ هَذِهِ الْأَشْيَاءِ إلَّا فِي الضَّبِّ فَإِنَّهُ حَلَالٌ عَنْدَ الشَّافِعِيِّ

 (بدائع الصنائع، ج5، ص36، دار الكتب العلمية)


ويكره أكل الضبع والضب والسلحفاة والزنبور والحشرات كلها

) الهداية، ج4، ص352، دار احياء التراث العربي)


[2], last accessed on 27/01/2014. 


I am having a lot of difficulty with doubts in my mind about the halal status of foods. For example, now that it is holiday time and the hotel plan to stay caters halal breakfasts has a separate halal room for the muslim customers where many muslim people come to eat, although what is bothering me is that these hotels are not checked by halal organizations.


I want to eat the food because it is labeled halal and all other muslims people are eating it as well, but then I think of small ingredients that may not be halal in some of the stuff such as  the bread, biscuits, juices, milk, etc. I don’t know what to do. Please advice me. I know that if there is a doubt, we must avoid. But I feel like I have too many doubts that are becoming impossible and making me feel completely overwhelmed.


If one is in doubt but still eats the thing that`s causing doubt because of seeing other muslims eat it and that the stuff is labeled halal by the hotel although I may not know the origin of some of the ingredients such as in the baked stuff, is it haram? Will be my ibadaah not be accepted for 40 days?





In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

As muslims, we are bound to exercise  caution in issues of halal and haram.

If an item is  labelled as halal, it is not sufficient to regard it as halal and consume it.


Likewise, if a hotel has arranged for halal food, that too is not necessarily halal.


If a person who is  a muslim and has adequate knowledge of halal and haram inform you that the food is halal or an item is halal and there is no reason to doubt his information , then only you may regard the food as reliable.


In this time and age, it is a challenge to find people  whose information can be regarded as halal. It is therefore best to hold on until you are satisfied with the information.   





Abu Ali ad-Dagistani

Student Darul Iftaa
Moscow, Russia

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

By: Mahmood Patel 

Darul Iftaa Student

Faculty of Jurisprudence & Islamic Verdicts



Is it permissible to eat sushi?


In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

As-salāmu ʿalaykum wa-raḥmatullāhi wa-barakātuh


There are different types of sushi dishes. Some contain seaweed, fish, shellfish, octopus, eel, vegetable, meat and other ingredients.

Therefore, if a sushi dish does not contain any Ḥarām ingredients, it will be permissible to eat such a dish. For a detailed explanation on what types of sea animals are permissible to consume, refer to the following link:

However, besides the main filling of a sushi dish, a person should be cautious with regards to all the other ingredients added to the dish, including spices; as well as the aspect of contamination with Ḥarām items at the time of preparing the dish.


And Allah Taʿālā Knows Best


Checked and Approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai

More Articles...

  1. Purified Bovine Salts


Join Our Mailing List (B.E.E.P) - Business Educational Empowerment Programme